January 06, 2011

Children's Place 50% Sale

Starting today, Children's Place is taking an additional 50% off already marked down pieces! This sale is in stores only but there's also a sale going on now on their website for holiday pieces you might've missed. Head on over today and stock up winter/spring outfits for your little one!

Some of my picks!

If I had a little girl, this one would def be on the list

January 01, 2011

Join Me for a Day of...SHOES!!

Even during my stage as a tomboy, I was just like every other girly girl on the planet-I LOVE SHOES!!! Before I got married I had a MEAN shoe-game! I always looked for styles and designers that everyone didn't already have or knew. Today I was mourning the loss of those days to the Mr and even though I know that the money is going to better places I was still a little sad to cut down on my habit. But then, the shoe angels smiled on me and every shoe-addict in the NYC/NJ area.

1356 Broadway Gotham Hall (at 36th & Bway)
I heard about this event last year and I was so mad I wasn't in NY at the time but I won't miss my chances this year! The sale starts tomorrow, Sunday, January, 2, 2011 from 10a-5p and then Mon.-Thurs. from 9a-7p. Stop in and start the year on the right foot lol!

All boots $39.99-$199.99, all shoes are $19.99-$99.99. New merchandise is added daily. This event has been named "The Ultimate Shoe Sale" by FOX News (2010). See you there!

December 14, 2010

Fire Safety Pack Giveaway

Christmas time is probably one of the best times to introduce fire prevention and safety to your little ones and it's never too early to set in place some tried and true lessons on it. With holiday decor and dry Christmas trees, family dinners and get-togethers, and mood settings with our favorite holiday inspired candles, this season is the deadliest time of year for home fires.

It's important that as parents and home-owners we all pay attention to our individual state laws and regulations on fire safety and some easy household practices.

*Keep fresh batteries in all smoke detectors and make sure they work.
*Store fire extinguishers in easily accessible areas and make sure everyone knows how it works.
*Keep exits clear and clutter free.
*Do not overload electrical outlets.
*Never leave lit candles unattended.
*Turn all pot/pan handles inward while on the stove or hot.

I am happy to host this giveaway for a Fire Safety Kit to one of you to help you in teaching your little ones about fire safety sponsored by Kiddie's Intelligent Alarm. The kit includes a fire extinguisher rated #1 by leading consumer magazines. I've tried the extinguisher at a recent Home Depot exhibit and I have to day it works fast and sweeps easily and fully so in a kitchen, garage, or classroom this will be a great tool to have. Also in this kit you will receive Kiddie Intelligent Alarm which uses leading technology to offer a faster response if ever a fire breaks out. The winning feature for me and anyone living in a fairly large building is the Intelligent Alarm Voice Warning that clear announces when danger is near, either fire or carbon monoxide, the silent killer by announcing "Fire! Fire!" or "Warning! Carbon Monoxide!" without being annoying.

Both typically would cost $80 at Home Depot and I'd be more than happy to send this out to one of you. Get your family started and educated on fire safety practices. All you have to do is comment on what practices you have in place in your own home to prevent or react in the case of a fire. A winner will be announced, Friday, December 17, 2010.

November 21, 2010

LeapFrog Tag Books: Buy 1 Get 1 Free at Target

Currently Target is having an amazing sale to get your ready for the holidays. The amazing Leapfrog Tag books are going from $10 and are on a special Buy 1 Get 1 FREE, of equal or lesser value of course, bringing it to 2 for the price of 1.

Well the great people at GMC are offering a $5 coupon off any Tag book, which would bring your total to a whopping $5 bucks for 2 books! SCORE! Target deal ends Wednesday, November 24th. So get down to Target and cross someone off that list!

Thanks to Common Sense with Money.

Hollywood for the Holidays

Well not quite but Beverly Hills is just as sweet! I don't know anyone that doesn't wish to escape the cold of winter to somewhere warm and luxe and now you all have that chance, with the city of Beverly Hills providing a way to turn your holiday wishes into a luxurious reality with their And To All A Goodnight holiday program.

Plan a lavish weekend getaway from November 15th to January 10th and pamper yourself with two nights at a Beverly Hills luxury hotel and the third night is FREE!! Hotels like the L'Ermitage Beverly Hills and the Montage Beverly Hills Hotel are participating in this wonderful holiday program to indulge your wishes with complimentary holiday-themed cocktail to welcome you with most participating hotels offering complimentary breakfast!

Even the kids are welcomed with tons for them to see, do, and enjoy their holiday season. Take them on the Candy Cane Scavenger Hunt and Cookie Decorating escapades, take a train ride with Mrs. Claus to visit Santa, or take in a classic holiday show like Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer. Walk and shop along Rodeo Drive to stop in little shops like Tiffany's, Neiman Marcus, and Barney's. Who could ask for a better way to spend the New Year!
It's as simple as a visit to the Deck the Beverly Hills website and choosing a luxury hotel of your choice and budget, pick a weekend, and indulge yourselves in all the divine luxury! If any of you take advantage of this great opportunity, link back to me NewYorkStateofMom and I'll be sure to post your pics and adventures for us all to enjoy.

November 14, 2010

The Original Social Networking-Pixie Chicago Review

One of my million dream business ventures is starting a stationary store. I LOVE personalized note pads and stationary, there's just something about the chicness of sending a note with a little some extra of yourself is so FAB to me! As a child, I kept in contact with my grandfather back in Jamaica through letters and I remember one birthday he sent me a Crane package with  note cards that had a gold C embossed on the front and envelopes with the prettiest gold lining to send to him and he had a silver matching set (he was a C too! Miss you Grandad). I felt so classy sending him a new letter every two weeks on my set. ::SWOON::

Well, imagine my excitement when a new papiere Pixie Chicago asked me to review their line. Right away, Cassandra knew as a NYC mom what would jump out to me and she was so right.

The simple chicness of the skyline with your personalized heading is FAB, and honestly what New Yorker doesn't think we have THE greatest skyline in the world! I was quite impressed with the quality of the paper of the samples she sent over, nothing flimsy or cheap feeling. After touring the site one other item I fell in LOVE with and plan on ordering for my niece soon is her children's line. ADORABLE!!!
All in all I enjoyed my samples and recently sent some notes out to some friends to let them know about the blog and they loved the playfulness of the notecards and the colours are divine. I don't care if you have an Iphone or Blackberry, a Mac or a PC NOTHING beats a handwritten note. While they are a bit more playful than the standard Crane pieces they stand out with their playfulness and great colour choices. To this day, after an interview or meeting or gifting I send a thank you note on my stationary and will def get chunks into the tradition. 

Right now Pixie Chicago is doing a special on their holiday line, offering 20% off some festive goodies that would make perfect hostess gifts and gifts for kids during the holiday. Check them out at their Etsy site as well!

Would I use this? YES
What/Who would I use this for? Sending notes to friends and family, and Thank You cards, Bloggers
Borough Rating: 4 Boroughs

November 13, 2010

Ride The Future

As a mom some of my cares and concerns have changed from my crazy college days, I want the air my little guy to breathe to be the best it can, I want new technology to challenge his mind, and I want the best comfort all around for him. Recently I took part in NYC leg of  The Chevy Volt Unplugged Tour and I think GMC and I are on the same page.

The Volt is the first of it's kind Electric car! My best friend was actually on the team that helped develop a model at MIT and ever since I've been dying to see what the major motor companies could come up with. Recently, I read about Nissan's electric model the Leaf and thought it was pretty futuristic looking and interesting in features but laking in that it is fully battery dependent and should that battery die, you'll just be sitting around waiting for it to re-charge. For this reason alone, I'd pass! I love cutting-edge technology but understand kinks have to be worked out in a product before it's truly amazing but then...THE VOLT!

Here is a sleek model with all the bells and whistles of a new, high-end car but with so much more. It is an electric model that will give you hours of straight electric drive. On a standard household 120 volt outlet you can charged your car for 10 hours and never need to use gas. The Volt does however, take premium gas in it's 13 gallon tank but with the ease of charging and the car's own recharge capabilities you'll hardly ever have to fill her up. In addition, there is an 8 year or 100,000 mile warranty on the battery.
One of the things that won me over about the car is how kid friendly and concious the car and it's features are. There are rear camera and parking assisting features so you can always been on a look out for anyone running out for a ball or standing behind you before you back out. The most charming feature for me was the Chirp horn. This car is RIDICULOUSLY quiet, why on my test drive a biker couldn't even tell that I was right next to him, so the chirp comes in handy for kids riding their bikes in the street or for someone texting and walking that is relying on hearing a car's engine to no whether or stop or go (trust me there are people like that). It makes the cutest chirp-chirp sound just to get their attention without it being a loud car honk. It has 2 LCD screens and DVD player to keep the kiddies busy in the back as well as keep you informed on your driving efficiency and battery levels. The 30GB hard-drive on the center console will store your music and videos for any road trip! I couldn't believe the amount of room the back of this seemingly little car had! Two full size car seats would be quite comfortable in the back and the trunk would hold both strollers and groceries with no problem. A true winner!

The Volt is available now at $41,000 with a $7,500 tax credit and a lease option of $350/month. NOT BAD FOR STATE OF THE ART! But as a mom, a woman who's had cars break down on me out of no where, and a New Yorker and I had my own set of questions going in and my host and Chevy battery engineer Marisol who was GREAT helping to answer my questions about whether or not this was an ideal car for my family in this city. With NYCs constant stop and go traffic it's good to know the car won't just wear down and die on me. It's also great to know that so far almost everything on the Volt is American made, the battery which is currently being manufactured in Korea will also be brought on US soil by 2013.

I had a great time trying the car out and hearing all about these great features coming with the new age driving experience. Definitely worth considering!

Photos  via Chevy